Fearsome Devils – Chapter 1

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be posting a few chapters from Fearsome Devils, the first fiction book in the Woods of Edir series. This first chapter introduces the world, and gives readers a feel for the differences between our world and the magical forest life. This chapter also sets the stage for the mystery of who the hero is in the story.


Introduction

Greetings, child of the common race of man. I hope that my words find you enjoying the warm vacation of the mind that a book provides. Sitting comfortably in a chair, perhaps you may have even nestled in front of the fireplace. I am almost envious of those conveniences, but that envy falls short for the same reason that it falls for all of the Children of Edir. My world comforts me with the joyous embrace of Joon.

You may be curious to what Joon is, or why it won’t extend its grasp outside of the woods of Edir. All this will be revealed, if you care to listen. I find the need to let a story pass on to you. One of adventure and intrigue. One where a brave soul saves the lives of two villages from the jealous ire of a mighty king among devils. One where I am the hero.

As I tell this story I will not let slide who I am. I will save that until the end; but an ease on your mind I also wish to give. This story ends with good overcoming evil, a triumphant celebration, and a great feast. Most importantly, I survived this story to tell it. So please humor my musings and enjoy the common comforts as this web is spun for you.

Chapter 1 | Chapter 2 | Chapter 3 | Chapter 4

©2014 Caleb Abbruzzese

Leave a Reply

